About Christian

Christian Coseru

I am an associate professor of philosophy in the Department of Philosophy at the College of Charleston. I work in the fields of philosophy of mind, Phenomenology, and cross-cultural philosophy, especially Indian and Buddhist philosophy in dialogue with Western philosophy and cognitive science. I have recently published a book, Perceiving Reality: Consciousness, Intentionality, and Cognition in Buddhist Philosophy (OUP, 2012) that develops a view of Buddhist epistemology, in the tradition of Dignaga and Dharmakirti, as continuous with the phenomenological methods and insights of Husserl and Merleau-Ponty, as well as with naturalistic approaches to epistenology and philosophy of mind. In 2012 I co-directed (with Jay Garfield and Evan Thompson) an NEH Summer Institute exploring the convergence of analytic, phenomenological, and Buddhist perspectives in the investigation of consciousness. I am currently completing a book manuscript on the intersections between perceptual and affective consciousness, tentatively entitled Sense, Self-Awareness, and Subjectivity.

Before joining the Philosophy Department at the College of Charleston, I taught in the Centre for Asian Societies and Histories at the Australian National University. I received my Ph.D. from the Australian National University in 2005; I also hold a B.A. and M.A. in philosophy from the University of Bucharest. While at ANU, I also worked on a proof of concept model for parsing Sanskrit based on the Interlingua System (the project was funded by an ARC grant). I have and continue to travel extensively for my research. I spent four and a half years in India in the mid 1990s pursuing studies in Sanskrit and Indian Philosophy. While in India, I was affiliated with several research institutes, including the Asiatic Society in Calcutta (1995-1996), the Bhandarkar Oriental Research Institute and De Nobili College in Pune (1993), and the Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Sarnath, Varanasi (1995-1997). I was a visiting scholar at Queens' College, Cambridge University in 2000, and at the Institut de Civilisation Indienne, Paris in 2001.

I grew up on the banks of the Danube in Galati, Romania. I now live in Charleston, and am married to my colleague, philosopher and author Sheridan Hough.